Reviews

What people are saying about The Pied Bull Hotel




Comfortable stay - Rating 3/5

Comfortable stay. Large bath towels would be a nice addition. Breakfast was satisfactory. The young lady who served us at breakfast was so nice and friendly, she was the housekeeper and served us very well. This was definitely value for money for an overnight stay for two of us. I am 65 now and have known this pub for over 40 years, it has a lot of character, but in my opinion would be more attractive with the restaurant integrated into the whole pub.

Reviewer:Barbara V | Sat 30th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Good value central- Rating 4/5

Good value clean warm basic accommodation near station in centre of town

Reviewer:Louise M | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 7 months ago


An enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

My friend was unable to be with me to share a very nice room with a comfortable bed and a large bathroom. The breakfast was very good including black pudding. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Geoffrey G | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Perfect venue - Rating 5/5

Excellent venue for a meeting and overnight stay. Accommodation perfect and all at a very reasonable price.

Reviewer:J. B | Thu 16th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Night out in Newton - Rating 3/5

We used the Pied Bull to stay over due to us attending a friends birthday. The hotel is clean and tidy and has a homely feel to it. The staff were great and the room prices are good

Reviewer:Mr. Jason F | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Basic - Rating 5/5

Decided to stay here with my daughter after a bad experience of staying at a house in a rented room with bad security!!! booked a room at the Pied bull the next morning.The rooms are basic but clean and mine had a great shower in it, the hotel could do with a makeover i.e new windows and decor in the main entrance to the hotel and the stairs leading to the rooms.Staff where amazing, very polite and the food was good. The internet was a tad slow (don't even think about online gaming LOL) but OK for facebook, emails etc....will defo stay here again..... one more thing, if your staying during the summer make sure you pack a fan, the rooms can get hot!

Reviewer:ALAN A | Thu 19th Oct 2017 | 9 months ago


Nice and clean- Rating 4/5

Nice and local for what we wanted rooms are clean and the ones in the cottage are really specious .we were visiting family in newton so its great for us we have stayed before

Reviewer:Mr. TERENCE T | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely stay- Rating 4/5

Nice and local for what we wanted rooms are clean and the ones in the cottage are really specious .we were visiting family in newton so its great for us we have stayed before not quite 5 stars but its lovely and friendly

Reviewer:Mr. TERENCE T | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Always a joy to stay here. Clean rooms, great food and friendly staff. What more could you want? Thats why we keep coming back. Thanks

Reviewer:Miss. Isabel F | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Great stay, lovely fresh cooked food. Clean room and helpful staff would recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Geraldene F | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly place - Rating 5/5

Great food, comfortable room, ideal!

Reviewer:Garry C | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Value for Money - Rating 4/5

Don't expect the Hilton the accommodation is basic but it is clean and the staff were very friendly.Definitely value for money

Reviewer:Mr. DavidF | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


STAY - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room nice cup of tea in the morning but shower not much good ROOM #4

Reviewer:Mr. STANLEY B | Sat 1st Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Always a pleasure.- Rating 5/5

My stay was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.Room was spotlessly clean as usual.Will definitely stay there again as I have many times before.

Reviewer:Mr. DERMOT H | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Wifes birthday - Rating 4/5

Lovely freindly place in a nice part of townEverything we needed for the night....would stay again....

Reviewer:Mr. Michael M | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Midweek break - Rating 5/5

It was our anniversery so at 4pm we decided to go and have a night away very spur of the moment. I googled local hotels i found The pied bull &booked. Arrived to a nice clean room good pub great atmosphere and lovely reasonable priced food. Well worth a stay reasonable room rates. We had a fab stay Thanks x

Reviewer:Miss. AlisonL | Fri 28th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Midweek break - Rating 5/5

It was our anniversery so at 4pm we decided to go and have a night away very spur of the moment. I googled local hotels i found The pied bull &booked. Arrived to a nice clean room good pub great atmosphere and lovely reasonable priced food. Well worth a stay reasonable room rates. We had a fab stay Thanks x

Reviewer:Miss. AlisonL | Fri 28th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Very pleased- Rating 5/5

I was very surprised by how big the rooms were and everything was great. We was in the cottage next to the pub. Thank you, I would recommend

Reviewer:Mr. ThomasM | Wed 26th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


good value- Rating 3/5

typical old property,with uneven floors and musty smell.bed and bedding were clean and comfortable

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Very good value for money- Rating 5/5

Food was excellent , had a lovely couple of days. Only one gripe would be they appear not not vacuum the rooms very often. Other than that it was great for the money.

Reviewer:Ms. Angela G | Sun 25th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Will certainly stay again - Rating 5/5

Having chose this purely due to being near by place i was visiting was impressed by freindly staff + service. Will be booking any future visits here for sure thank you for making my stay such a pleasure

Reviewer:Miss. Anita Stevens| Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Racing trip - Rating 4/5

Good location for haydock racing very nice pub,great food and hospitality

Reviewer:Mr. jeff f | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Traditional Pub Accommodation - Rating 4/5

Very helpful staff and the most comfortable bed we have ever had.

Reviewer:Mr. PAUL C | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Haydockstayover - Rating 4/5

Ourstay at the hotel was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful the food was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. MichaelH | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Will book soon for next year - Rating 5/5

I am glad I have been able to give a review as I was going to anyway. I had an exhibition to attend in Haydock and travelled up from Suffolk via Southampton. The place is fantastic, great rooms, just what you need after a 400 mile driving day. A Comfortable clean bed, a nice hot shower and TV. The benefit of the accommodation is that although it is at a pub, it is not in the pub but next door in a little cottage annex. Food was great as well as the friendly staff. One of the up sides is that you can have a pint and not have to worry about driving back to the hotel, a very nice welcoming place to stay. I will definitely book again for next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard C | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Very welcoming- Rating 5/5

Lovely place , friendly staff , room was clean and bed comfortable

Reviewer:Mrs. JACKIE W | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great pub &accommodation - Rating 4/5

Nice pub. Good carvery. Stayed one night in the annexe. Good price-would stay here again for the races.

Reviewer:Ms. Wendy D | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Sad occassion - Nice Hotel - Rating 3/5

Up from Kent for a Funeral but the Hotel and Newton Le Willow made it bearable!

Reviewer:Mr. Edwin H | Fri 22nd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed many times and have never been disappointed with either the accommodation and hospitality. Cant wait to return sometime in April.

Reviewer:Miss. Isabel F | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Good stopover - Rating 5/5

ideal for business, clean comfortable room, good wifi, excellent food and service

Reviewer:Mrs. Miranda D | Sat 6th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Nice, no nonsense- Rating 4/5

Reasonable and comfortable accomodation, well situated. Some evenings can be noisy because pub music from downstairs and fun on the streets does reach the rooms. If you're a foreign traveller you'll probably conisder that the price is a bit high but it is more or less a standard rate for UK. Food is good. Location is good. Staff are friendly enough. Parking and wifi are both available and free. Heavy fire doors and stairs are an inconvenience (no lift) so travel light.

Reviewer:Ms. Paula H | Tue 15th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 4/5

Great location, great staff, will hopefully be back again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven W | Tue 24th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


spot on - Rating 5/5

great pub, excellent friendly staff,breakfastvery good.rooms very nice ,comfy bed thanks will def return.

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

Staff were polite, helpful.Food and service excellent.Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. LillianM | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


night before the wedding - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the pied bull with 3 of my friendsthe night before i got marrried as the church is just down the road, they were excellent in letting us have a late check out in the morning and reserving us a table to eat in the pub, and best of all is the breakfast, it was lovely and with unlimited toast and orange juice it was perfect, will def be staying here again in the future

Reviewer:Mr. David K | Mon 24th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Wedding weekend - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff warm welcome good breakfast would book again

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Pied Bull Review - Rating 3/5

Enjoyed our two nights at the Pied Bull Hotel. Staff very polite and helpful.Room was basic but clean. Would return.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon M | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Our experience. - Rating 4/5

Our stay at the PB was more than satisfactory. The room was pleasant and clean,if a little old fashioned, the bed comfortable and the bathroom large and clean.The staff were pleasant and obliging and anything mentioned was acted upon straight away.The breakfast too was more than satisfactory and could be tailored to suit any individual requirements.All in all I was happy with my bed and breakfast 2 night stay.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewL | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Large, clean rooms. Full English breakfast very tasty. Nice friendly staff. Pub food also very good. Would definitely stay there again when next in area.

Reviewer:Miss. Rachel C | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Stayed many times and service has always been excellent. Looking forward to next visit.

Reviewer:Miss. Isabel F | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Welcoming and Friendly - Rating 4/5

I stayed overnight to be on time for a family funeral and arrived 2.5 hours late because of M62 accident which kept me stationary for well over an hour and then forced a diversion. I was warmly welcomed, settled in and had a very good and comfortable sleep in a clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was larger than my usual meal but I enjoyed it and again the staff were friendly and the service excellent. Not the Hilton but pretty good.

Reviewer:Mr. CyrilR | Fri 1st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Minor Problem quickly resolved - Rating 5/5

Very good room, clean and tidy. There was a problem with the lock on the room but the staff were really helpful and it was shanged within a couple of hours. Very good response!!

Reviewer:Mr. Wayne D | Fri 1st May 2015 | 3 years ago


April 13th - 18th 2015 visit - Rating 4/5

We stayed last week and had no problems at all at the Pied Bull.Staff are friendly and helpfull;the rooms are comfortable and cleaned well.Breakfasts were good and nothing was too much trouble foor the staff- who looked after us well.Will stay there again, next time we are in the area.Thank you.Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Ian G | Tue 21st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Not quite perfect - Rating 4/5

Accommodation clean and well arranged. TV not easy to operate - tired zapper?Breakfast quite something:well-cooked and generously substantial.Unfortunate mistake with charging - refund requested.

Reviewer:Mr. Bill H | Mon 6th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Stayed whilst working in the area - Rating 3/5

Excellent value for money food good rooms were warm and clean.Hospitality very good made to feel welcome as soon as you set foot in the door.Would definitely go back.

Reviewer:Mr. Douglas R | Sat 4th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


An ideal location from which to visit the northwest - Rating 3/5

We enjoyed 4 nights here,using the local station to travel to both Liverpool and Manchester. We loved both cities. Our room at the Pied Bull was spacious with a large em suite bathroom -very clean and comfortable. No frills but great value and with both bar food and other local eateries very convenient.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susanne D | Tue 31st Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Friendly - Rating 4/5

Albeit the hotel is in need of refurbishment it was clean, tidy;staff were very helpful/friendly and the bar was popular.

Reviewer:Mr. James H | Wed 25th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Outstanding all round will be staying again

Reviewer:Miss. Sian E | Sun 1st Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Fab as always - Rating 5/5

Always stay here when passing through Newton. Whole place is fab, bar, restaurant, staff and rooms.Fresh comfy bed, spotless.Thanks guys, see next time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda H | Mon 19th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


stay at pied bull - Rating 3/5

nice stop at well placed hotel , didn`t enjoy the breakfast as much as last time

Reviewer:Mr. John S | Tue 23rd Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very nice room, very reasonable, will be back

Reviewer:Mr. Philip L | Sun 7th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Have stayed many times and have never had a bad experience. Great food, great accommodation and fantastic staff.

Reviewer:Miss. Isabel F | Wed 26th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


our stay - Rating 4/5

another great stay at the pied bull nice breakfast close to other pubs and shops enjoyed our stay thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Sephton S | Mon 22nd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Nice place - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my stay,bar good , room big and clean, excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Peter H | Fri 12th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Pied Bull - Rating 4/5

Good beer, good food, good room. Very well located for Haydock Park racecourse. I will use this facility if I visit this part of the country in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeff F | Wed 10th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Good Time - Rating 4/5

We stayed at The Pied Bull Hotel overnight. We would like to say the rooms were more than adequate and clean, The pub was great.We had two full English breakfasts and they were both delicious. Lastly the staff were very accommodating and helpful.We will certainly stay there again. Thankyou.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise S | Mon 8th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent Stay! - Rating 5/5

You are welcome only just seen your email been so busy! It was great, thank you. Enjoyed it. Friendly staff and manager. And good food too! Very helpful. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant. Marilyn (Debbie)

Reviewer:Mrs. Marilyn P | Sun 7th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


pied bull - Rating 4/5

I enjoyed my stay at the pied bull and would go back again.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil G | Mon 25th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


23rd August 2014 - Rating 3/5

We stayed at this venue for a single night while attending a family party that also took place in the Pied Bull Restaurant. The room was a tad basic but clean and tidy. We slept fine and enjoyed the full English breakfast in the morning. They do excellent 'Cheesey Chips' in the bar.

Reviewer:Mr. Ray B | Mon 25th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Pied Bull Hotel - Rating 4/5

Last minute booking and on arrival there'd been a mix up and we didn't have a room. Really nice guy called Kevin helped us out and we we're given an upper floor room which was perfectly acceptable.If you're going to Haydock races you should consider this place!!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Mike B | Wed 13th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


First Class - Rating 5/5

Stayed here before and the service and standard of accomodation is always first class.

Reviewer:Miss. Isabel F | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Jessie j - Rating 4/5

Nice clean and friendly, would use this hotel again

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth B | Sun 10th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


July Visit - Rating 5/5

Food as always to a high standard both at evening and breakfast , and a good nights sleep what more do you need

Reviewer:Mr. Derek S | Fri 8th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


i day stopover - Rating 3/5

we had a great stay at the hotel ,staff were polite and helpful look forward to going back

Reviewer:Mr. John S | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Well Done - Rating 5/5

Food always to a high standard with staff that are pleasant and always happy to help both in the evening and at breakfast. Well done.

Reviewer:Mr. Derek S | Thu 31st Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


good nights sleep - Rating 4/5

stayed overnight after a long day in Liverpool. excellent location, rooms tidy and clean, bed comfy

Reviewer:Mrs. Victoria K | Mon 28th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

We travelled to stay in the Pied Bull as we were going to Royal Birkdal on the Sunday. We found the hotel on a search engine and we liked the look of the Hotel. It was a lovely hotel, very friendly and we had a meal, which was beautifully prepared and we enjoyed it very much. The room was very comfortable.We will stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diana P | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

First time we have stayed here, but will be coming back.We were made welcome from the moment we arrived. The breakfast was excellent.We came over for the Races and will be booking to stay here again in the near future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindsey H | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


pleasant stay at pied bull - Rating 4/5

The room was clean tidy and welcoming.the staff were very friendly and i would definately stay here again. maybe extend check out time by an hour if possible

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony R | Sun 6th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Racing - Rating 4/5

Nice and clean:Good Service:Correct price:I've been several times before and would go again.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon H | Mon 23rd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Arrived in the evening and was pleasantly greeted by staff. The room was clean and well prepared with all your guest house essentials. Well priced and would come again.Recommended!

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Tue 10th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Friendly and good value - Rating 4/5

Had a nice stay at The Pied Bull, the staff were friendly and it was good value for money. The breakfast was amazing quality.

Reviewer:Mr. Warren P | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Weekend rfl stay. - Rating 4/5

En suite accomodation was good. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Good real ales at the bar. I would stay again here, weekend worth the money.

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph S | Fri 23rd May 2014 | 4 years ago


Accommodation - Rating 3/5

We found the rooms clean and tidy and the staff very friendly. However the room was too light through the curtains in the mornings and the pillows were very uncomfortable.There was no sign to hang on the outside of the door, so the first morning the chamber maid knocked but immediately unlocked the door and walked in, waking me. The second morning, I was woken to knocking on the door and when I called out, the lady asked me if we needed anything. I would have appreciated a lie-in on both those days!The pub is great and we have eaten there before so I would recommend the food.

Reviewer:Mrs. Andree C | Tue 20th May 2014 | 4 years ago


weekend stay - Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed the weekend stay which was a very busy one for the hotel due to the grand national being on nearby.Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew K | Mon 7th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Really nice stay, pleasant staff &very spacious room.Thank you

Reviewer:Miss. Julie H | Mon 31st Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Friendly,good experience - Rating 4/5

Very nice pub,good food. The room we had was adequate,however the bathroom was in need of an update,carpet in a bathroom a definite no no! Overall a good experience.

Response

Many thanks for the review of your stay with us this week. We really appreciate your comments and feedback.Having already replaced carpets that were in any of the other bathrooms with more appropriate solid floor coverings, the final one for Room 4 (where you were staying) is actually scheduled to be done next week.Many of the bathrooms have already undergone full upgrades/refurbishments, but we have only been able to deal with these on a prioritised/need basis as and when funds have allowed, since we are only a small independent business with limited resources.We are however pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and look forward to maybe welcoming you back at a future date.Kind regardsKevin JennisonProprietor

Reviewer:Mrs. Pamela B | Sun 16th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Very Happy - Rating 5/5

Clean and tidy, with friendly staff, from the cleaners, to the bar staff. Nice spot to stay with a great breakfast. Bar meals also good after a days work.Thank you all

Reviewer:Mr. Charles K | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Consistently good - Rating 5/5

Stayed here once before (in the annexe).Staff are very friendly and helpful. This time my room was above the pub but it was still very quiet at night.

Reviewer:Mr. John F | Thu 6th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Great food, nice room especially the bathroom, convenient location, would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley R | Mon 4th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Looking forward to our next stay. - Rating 4/5

While we knew the facilities are somewhat dated, the staff made our stay very enjoyable and very comfortable. Good value for the money. Pub food was excellent. Also located conveniently to rail and bus service to the area. We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Mr. JohnP | Tue 22nd Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


BASIC BUT CLEAN - Rating 4/5

very basic but clean and friendly staff value for money and food was very good

Reviewer:Mrs. Lilian P | Mon 21st Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Good - will definitely return - Rating 4/5

Off road parking, warm welcome, accommodation good and quiet at night.Accommodation accessible (securely with key) without going through the hotel bar/restaurant.Didn't get to try the cooked breakfast as needed to leave early.Excellent value and will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mr. John F | Mon 7th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


mrs preedy - Rating 5/5

i would like to say thank you to the pied bull hotel it a very nice place to stay and i will stay there again when i am up to see my famliy again . the meals are very good as well the rooms wear nice and clean thank you again

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary P | Fri 20th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


It is a good HOTEL - Rating 5/5

I stayed there several times and it is a very good hotel! :)

Reviewer:Mr. Gabriella P | Wed 21st Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


Comfortable and convenient - Rating 4/5

The Pied Bull is very conveniently situated, close to the train station, buses, and the motorway network. There is a roomy car park with cctv .As well as the good bar food at PB, there are other eating options on the High Street. The staff are always very friendly and welcoming, the rooms clean and comfortable with free wifi. A few more breakfast options would be good eg fresh fruit, yoghurt, herbal tea.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline G | Thu 15th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


5* - Rating 5/5

excellent hotel, and very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Danny N | Fri 9th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


pied bull stay - Rating 4/5

I found the staff to be friendly and the room was more than adequate for my needs. The only down side was the room floor was not hoovered, apart from that I also must congratulate the chef for the meals that I had, they were really filling and also tasted good. I would not hesitate in encouraging my friends and colleagues to stay here, so much so that I am staying again for another couple of nights. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert M | Fri 9th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


B&B - Rating 3/5

Comfortable bed clean and tidy room, bed made daily.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen D | Wed 24th Jul 2013 | 4 years ago


our stay - Rating 4/5

we enjoyed our stay, although the walls a little thin, it can't be helped, bed was comfortable,the bath towels were a good size i like to beable to wrap them right around me, personally i like my room to be quite dark which this room wasn't because off the street lighting.The pub was lively when we arrived, and when we came backin at night, would loved to have tried the food because it smelt lovely, maybe next time we stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Elaine W | Tue 25th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We would like to thank the staff for looking after us. We stayed in the cottage &the room was a generous size &had a large en-suite. It was very clean &the bed was very comfortable. We had lunch &breakfast &the food was really good.

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Mon 17th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


stu - Rating 4/5

stayed 1 night after a racing trip rooms very spacious and comfortable I would return again

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart C | Sat 15th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Our 5th visit and its brilliant. Thats why we keep coming back. Great food, great staff, great accomodation, great value.

Reviewer:Miss. Isabel F | Mon 10th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Good value- Rating 4/5

The hotel is well located for the railway to Liverpool or Manchester and has lots of parking. We had a very comfortable stay. The breakfast was excellent and there is a good choice of food in the evenings. The room was warm and cosy and adequate for our stay. I would recommend it to a friend. It was good value for money too.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan J | Fri 26th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Good Choice - Rating 4/5

Stayed for 2 nights,room was really good,nice and clean, Bar food was great and the cooked breakfast even better.Staff were friendly and the whole place is a credit to the owner. Will stay again when I am in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter T | Thu 14th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Good Stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed the room,food and the hotel ambience

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Wed 6th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Pied Bull, Newton - Rating 5/5

No complaints. Excellent value. Nice pub with decent beer. Good breakfast. If ever I need to stay in Newton again I will certainly stay at the Pied Bull

Reviewer:Mr. Peter R | Sun 2nd Dec 2012 | 5 years ago


Canon - Rating 4/5

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet during the night and both breakfast and lunch were very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Cyril R | Thu 22nd Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


ODD - Rating 3/5

Hotel was fine for the price. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was however a little odd, Looked good but everything tasted ODD!!

Reviewer:Mr. Gary T | Tue 18th Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Simple accomidation over an excellent pub with very good food, helpful and professional staff and management. I stay her 2 or 3 days a week while working in the area

Reviewer:Mr. Ian M | Fri 14th Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


Newton nice - Rating 4/5

Right price, right location - friendly village, good beer and a quiz night to boot. A recommended stay

Reviewer:Mr. James B | Thu 23rd Aug 2012 | 5 years ago


mike mccarthy - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay with you the room and staff was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike M | Sat 18th Aug 2012 | 5 years ago


Christening - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Pied Bull Hotel before and were happy with both of our stays. It is a very friendly service with everything you need. I would reccommend to a friend.We reccently had our baby's Christening here. Again, the service was friendly. The buffet was excellent! A great day was had by all.

Reviewer:Mrs. Louise A | Wed 1st Aug 2012 | 5 years ago


great weekend- Rating 5/5

great hotel friendly staff very accommodating will stay there again when in Newton

Reviewer:Mr. James D | Mon 9th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Outstanding stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a very well run place. Its was all i needed and more.The staff were very pleasent, and very helpful. The accommadation was good and in a very clean state. Lovely place and i will be back in the future. Thanku

Reviewer:Mr. Dominic H | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


accomodation - Rating 5/5

we enjoyed our stay with you the rooms and service were excellent we will stay again if we need to be in the area

Reviewer:Mr. Peter K | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome,good rooms and VERY good food all the staff are happy .We will be back time and time again.Thankyou all

Reviewer:Mr. Patrick S | Wed 11th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Good value - nice food - Rating 4/5

Good value, clean and friendly.Pub food was excellent - portions could be smaller to make prices cheaper, because there was far too much served even for the largest of appetites!

Reviewer:Ms. Paula Mary H | Mon 5th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Pretty much flawless! - Rating 5/5

An enjoyable stay. Friendly staff, very clean rooms and facilities. Wi-fi available which is useful. Lovely location and very close to corner shop, chemsist, pubs, and the train station. I have stayed there a few times before and will be staying again some time in the new year. Best of all, good rates! There is also a competing hotel just around the corner which I have also stayed at and it was the complete opposite of The Pied Bull so I would stay here every time, no question about it. If there is any downside at all, it would be that (personally) I think the breakfast is overpriced, but each to their own.

Reviewer:Miss. Ruth O | Sun 13th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Our Stay at the Pied Bull - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Pied Bull, your staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean, bright, warm and comfortable.The breakfast was very good and overall we enjoyed our stay with you.Kind regards Barbara and Tommy

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara E | Fri 11th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Pied Bull Hotel - Rating 3/5

On the plus side, the owners are very friendly and willing to assist. The food is very good and reasonably priced.The room was fine.By no means luxurious, but for a 3-star hotel perfectly adequate.The main negative was very poor internet connection.The signal was weak and the connection speed was slow.One day I couldn't connect from my room or the bar.The staff allowed me to use the meeting room, where I finally managed to get a connection.The second day I was able to connect from my room.I was unable to get a connection on my iPod at all.Another problem was the duvet was very short.I am of average height (5' 10") but the duvet did not cover my feet.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel S | Tue 8th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

On arrival I was shown to my room which was adjacent to the beer garden and smoking area. First impressions I thought this is not too good and expected to be awake most of the night due to saturday night noise. I had food and drink in the pub which was nice, then I went back to my room. The room was nicely furnished with ensuite. I had a good night sleep which was followed by a nice breakfast and friendly staff. Price was on the top side and goes to show you shouldnt go on first impressions as my stay was okay.Only down side to room was it had two windows looking onto the beer garden so you were like a goldfish in a fishtank unless you closed the curtains and put light on.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark S | Wed 10th Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


July 2011 Visit - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful experience visiting family in Newton le Willows and staying at The Pied Bull. We had three rooms in the cottage. Rooms were neat and clean and with recently refurbished bathrooms which were very nice. Plenty of towels and nice toiletries, and the staff was great with all of our coming and going! THey have a lovely garden area to sit out in and visit and the breakfasts were done to order and lovely. Great Place!

Reviewer:Mrs. Cynthia B | Wed 3rd Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Good food, warm welcome, comfy and clean, good rates and quaint accommodation

Reviewer:Mr. David E | Wed 6th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Overnight stay on 11/6/11 - Rating 4/5

Room was excellent - clean, fairly spacious and beds comfortable.Only one minor complaint was position of TV in relation to beds.Wouldn't have been such a big issue but wanted to see F1 practice.We weren't very hungry so did not have much breakfast but what we had was lovely.Superb value for money.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. William C | Sat 18th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Bonza [Australian for great] - Rating 4/5

Lovely quiet room.Nicely furnished and you have a good cleaner but you must remove the shower waste cover and clean the filter under it on a regular basis or you will have an overflow into bathroom and lounge.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry H | Wed 1st Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


very good - Rating 4/5

value for money great food pleasant staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Julia W | Wed 18th May 2011 | 7 years ago


raceing - Rating 5/5

thanks for another loverly stay nice clean roomslovely food staff very polite see you next year

Reviewer:Mr. Paul H | Wed 27th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks